Long time no see…..

Covid and all it brought (too much for me to explain my personal circumstances) soon put an end to my workshops and general postings. Finally, I am emerging from my cocoon, not so much into a pretty butterfly or moth but definitely a presence!

During my absence from social media, I have been relying on home crafts to fill my life.. .. along with my garden. I hope my future posts will inspire you to try new crafts or visit new places of interest.

So far, this year has been spent recovering from repetitive strain injury – self induced of course by my passion and indulgence in crafting – it has its drawbacks! It’s been a slow recovery and very frustrating too, hence my absence so far this year.

Hopefully things are improving but at a snail’s pace…..it’s taking a lot of patience, as I’m not one to sit around twiddling my thumbs – particularly sore, swollen ones!

I decided to learn some new crafts whilst on this journey. The first of these a slab clay workshop I attended at Watts Gallery, pottery studio last month. We were to create garden pots inspired the work of Halima Cassell: From the Earth, currently on exhibit at Watts. This exhibition is still running, but do hurry, it finishes this Sunday (18 June 2023). Well worth a visit to see her inspirational work using clays from around the world. Follow this link to book a slot here.

I thoroughly enjoyed the morning workshop, but wished I had made a design prior to the workshop, however it has inspired me to experiment with air dry clay. To be revealed at a later date!

Foyles Pottery Studio, Watts Gallery Artists Village, Compton, nr Guildford, Surrey

Leave a comment